Forum rules
Under no circumstances is spamming or advertising of any kind allowed. Do not post any abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening, sexually-orientated or any other material that may violate others security. Profanity or any kind of insolent behavior to other members (regardless of rank) will not be tolerated. Remember, what you don’t find offensive can be offensive to other members. Please treat each other with the kind of reverence you’d expect from other members.
Failure to comply with any of the above will result in users being banned without notice. If any further details are needed, contact: “The team” using the link at the bottom of the forum page. Thank you.
teras

Developing an application to parse XML of opensubtitles.org

Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:28 am

Hello

I am an author of a subtitle editor, and I am thinking of adding a plugin to automatically download subtitles from this database. I am thinking about the API and if I am really allowed to do this directly, bypassing this web ineterface. I know that it is open, but still I feel like asking first.
Is there any tutorial about it, or should I find the way on my own?
Is this XML "API" something stable, or is it expected to change?

oss
Site Admin

Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:48 am

Hello,

tell me more about that subtitle editor, show me something you already coded. Also, why only download? I have created api (based on XMLRPC), which supports upload and so on.

XMLRPC is +- stable, it changes a bit, but I can help you - I think you need XML for searches, right ? try add "simplexml" at end of search url :)

teras

Thu Jan 25, 2007 1:41 am

It's called Jubler and it is open source.
You can find it in www.jubler.org, but I have advertise it already in a couple of sites, so I believe it is pretty known by now (especially in the Linux/Mac world).

I was thinking to support download at first, and probably add upload support later on. Small steps at a time :-)